View Full Version : Callaway Fakes....again???
golferboy
May 31, 2007, 07:13 AM
http://toronto.craigslist.org/spo/341430392.html
Well at least he's not trying to pass these off as the real thing...:mad:
thekathrynorchard
May 31, 2007, 07:53 AM
Ha yeah. How does he/she think that's acceptable? People...???!!!
dohboy
May 31, 2007, 10:40 AM
But the person specifically noted that what s/he was selling is a fake. In that sense, is it not acceptable? If the person was selling this as authentic, then that would be unconscionable.
iyell4
May 31, 2007, 10:41 AM
Ha yeah. How does he/she think that's acceptable? People...???!!!
yeah, but he is callin' them out a Callaway novelty/replica clubs.
this is all legal and legit, right?
i am curious how they perform.
thekathrynorchard
May 31, 2007, 10:49 AM
I think because it's got another company's name on it, whether he/she's acknowledging them as legit or not, it's unacceptable. If it said, 'Kaloweigh' then maybe. I suspect they are infringing upon countless copy right laws however as they stand.
Bellyhungry
May 31, 2007, 10:52 AM
But I suppose you still can nail the person for peddling fake Fujikura shaft given that nowhere was the shaft being mentioned as replica.....;)
thekathrynorchard
May 31, 2007, 10:57 AM
Either way, there are replicas out there that are legit that don't have the company's name all over it. This is an infringement and illegal. Simply because he/she is recognizing it as a copy doesn't mean it's ok to use all their research and development and release a product with the original company's name on it. It would be like saying, "well yes officer, I stole all these stereos, but I told everyone I was selling them to that they were hot, so let me off the hook" :eek:
That's a decent price though :rofl: :rofl: :rofl: :rolleyes:
iyell4
May 31, 2007, 11:10 AM
I think because it's got another company's name on it, whether he/she's acknowledging them as legit or not, it's unacceptable. If it said, 'Kaloweigh' then maybe. I suspect they are infringing upon countless copy right laws however as they stand.
i'm no IP Lawyer, but i think thekathrynorchard has a point here.
but it would be the mfr and seller who have wronged Callaway
But I suppose you still can nail the person for peddling fake Fujikura shaft given that nowhere was the shaft being mentioned as replica.....;)
not true... read the ad . he's not saying that its a Fujikura!
"The shaft is the Fujikuro"
dohboy
May 31, 2007, 11:14 AM
"The shaft is the Fujikuro"
LMAO...Fujikuro....:rofl:
thekathrynorchard
May 31, 2007, 11:19 AM
i'm no IP Lawyer, but i think thekathrynorchard has a point here.
but it would be the mfr and seller who have wronged Callaway
Definately, I forgot to mention the mfr. This is 100% not legit and iyell4 hit the nail on the head with it.
swaaain
May 31, 2007, 11:22 AM
Well,
I have reported him to the proper people anyhow.
Callaway and the Toronto Police who I am working with on Anthony's fake clubs.
Jeff
JEBS
May 31, 2007, 11:22 AM
The funny thing is these "Fakes" are worth $10 US when you buy them in Shenzen.. It would knock your socks off seeing the sheer enormity of fakes and how good the fakes are getting over there (good on the outside any inner technology or material composition gives them away)
thekathrynorchard
May 31, 2007, 11:24 AM
Well,
I have reported him to the proper people anyhow.
Callaway and the Toronto Police who I am working with on Anthony's fake clubs.
Jeff
Good stuff. I can't believe people try and sell such illegal stuff in such public avenues. I suppose the benefits outweigh the risks??!!!:confused:
nearace
May 31, 2007, 12:26 PM
I have a sorny stereo for sale:)
Golftool
May 31, 2007, 12:52 PM
I have a sorny stereo for sale:)
I'd bite - but i prefer pan-of-sonic equipment:D
pudubny
May 31, 2007, 01:53 PM
Somebody asked how good they are.
Not nearly as good a real Callaways. 60 Minutes did a story on these a while ago and the dispersion pattern for off centre hits was considerably wider than the real thing. Not to mention that the shafts, a underated part of the club are usually junk on the fakes.
Of course Callaway is famous for making "game improvement" clubs which are more forgiving and easier to play than most. Buying fake Callaways kinda defeats the purpose. But you got BLING!
Pud
iyell4
May 31, 2007, 02:33 PM
my sister went to HK a few years back and got me a
David Bowre CD.
TourIQ
May 31, 2007, 02:34 PM
Somebody asked how good they are.
Not nearly as good a real Callaways. 60 Minutes did a story on these a while ago and the dispersion pattern for off centre hits was considerably wider than the real thing. Not to mention that the shafts, a underated part of the club are usually junk on the fakes.
Of course Callaway is famous for making "game improvement" clubs which are more forgiving and easier to play than most. Buying fake Callaways kinda defeats the purpose. But you got BLING!
PudIsn't it ironic that many guys will take a new Callaway driver with stock shaft and have it reshafted.
What does this say about the stock Callaway shafts?
I bet the counterfiet graphite shafts are full of fiberglass and not graphite.
Bellyhungry
May 31, 2007, 03:42 PM
I think starting 3 years ago, the major names have stopped making their own shafts, rather, they start collaborating with shaft company.
I don't think you will see too many big names with proprietary shafts anymore.
alienurbanite
May 31, 2007, 10:14 PM
i'm no IP Lawyer, but i think thekathrynorchard has a point here.
but it would be the mfr and seller who have wronged Callaway
not true... read the ad . he's not saying that its a Fujikura!
"The shaft is the Fujikuro"
There are three legal issues raised by this ad:
1) Trademark: The fact that "Callaway" and "Fukijara" are clearly marked on this product suggests that the seller is using the goodwill associated with these brands in order to faciliate the transaction. This directly hurts these companies in two ways - a) The inferior product can be associated with the name (regardless of whether he's indicated that they are "replicas" at the point of sale). Therefore, damaging the goodwill. b) The companies lose out on a sale of one of their original products.
2) Patent: Assuming that this product resembles an original club in its playability, the companies are losing out on the opportunity to recoup their R&D investments.
3) Fraud: While he's suggested that the club is a replica, he's also indirectly represented that the shaft is legitimate. As such, the partial misrepresentation in this transaction is tantamount to commercial fraud.
Way to go Jeff for reporting this guy/gal... As golf fans, we of anybody should take a stand against counterfeit equipment!
nearace
May 31, 2007, 10:23 PM
http://toronto.kijiji.ca/c-buy-and-sell-sports-bikes-Golf-Clubs-BRAND-NEW-W0QQAdIdZ14793619 at least this guy says these are fake honma.
the_GREEN_Hornet
May 31, 2007, 11:59 PM
I'm a little distressed now. I'm looking at the pictures of the knock-off X460 (I have the same driver-genuine!) and I can't tell the difference...from the pictures at least.
Is there a way to spot a fake if the seller failed to mention they were "duplicates"? (btw - who's selling those Sorny and Panofsonic stereo equipment...? :)
Cudoes to Jeff for taking actions! Bravo, good man, bravo!
t_G_H
iyell4
Jun 1, 2007, 05:57 AM
The funny thing is these "Fakes" are worth $10 US when you buy them in Shenzen.. It would knock your socks off seeing the sheer enormity of fakes and how good the fakes are getting over there (good on the outside any inner technology or material composition gives them away)
that's some decent profit margin sellin' @ $50 CAD as replica clubs.
think of the profit margin if misrepresented and sold as authentic.:eek:
I'm a little distressed now. I'm looking at the pictures of the knock-off X460 (I have the same driver-genuine!) and I can't tell the difference...from the pictures at least.
one of the guys in the foursome i played with last week had a pristine Callaway X460 in his bag. He said he bought it earlier this year off ebay for $100CAD including shipping. :)... at the time, i just said "That's a great deal! I'll have to check out ebay to see if I could score such great deals."
xander.uk
Jun 1, 2007, 11:45 AM
hmmmmmm i thought this guy said he was selling a set he got for xmas and that he didnt know what a fake golf club was?
these are fakes ( even he admits it ) the fact he admits it is irrelevant he is still selling copy/fake callaway golf clubs! ( callaway wont care that he admits they are fake except when the take him to court :) )
he is getting a proven track record of dishonestly selling fake good with these ads so i suggest you save a copy of them as " evidence "
all this new deception can only help you prove he is dishonest!
fujikuro shafts :rofl: love to try build a good swing using that crap..........lol
i do have to say though that if something " seems to good to be true" then it just might be!
support you local club builder/golf pro's !!! sure they have to make a living and are a little more expensive than e-bay but they CARE about the clubs and how they will suit your game because they want you to come back and do more business with them and they dont sell fake rubbish.
vBulletin v3.5.4, Copyright ©2000-2009, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.