PDA

View Full Version : Weather Network Not working?


sharkhark
Mar 15, 2009, 01:02 PM
For weeks my links to the weather network were inconsistent. For last 24 hours it is now completely in accessible.
sorry to waste a thread on this but its hard to plan without them and i like their set up over environment cda (even though they use chimps and dart boards for forecasts).
Can somebody check so i know its not me?
http://www.theweathernetwork.com/weather/CAON0696

Kace
Mar 15, 2009, 01:03 PM
The link works immediately for me.

P25
Mar 15, 2009, 01:04 PM
For weeks my links to the weather network were inconsistent. For last 24 hours it is now completely in accessible.
sorry to waste a thread on this but its hard to plan without them and i like their set up over environment cda (even though they use chimps and dart boards for forecasts).
Can somebody check so i know its not me?
http://www.theweathernetwork.com/weather/CAON0696

Nope - It's you :p

(it works)

mikejb
Mar 15, 2009, 01:11 PM
Accuweather is also a very good service.

compugeek
Mar 15, 2009, 01:11 PM
same here. no problems.

Big Shooter
Mar 15, 2009, 01:53 PM
I prefer the Environment Canada site:

http://www.weatheroffice.gc.ca/city/pages/on-143_metric_e.html

skt07
Mar 15, 2009, 02:13 PM
For weeks my links to the weather network were inconsistent. For last 24 hours it is now completely in accessible.
sorry to waste a thread on this but its hard to plan without them and i like their set up over environment cda (even though they use chimps and dart boards for forecasts).
Can somebody check so i know its not me?
http://www.theweathernetwork.com/weather/CAON0696

It's just you. Find out here:

http://downforeveryoneorjustme.com/

i.e.,

http://downforeveryoneorjustme.com/http://www.theweathernetwork.com/weather/CAON0696

jmac
Mar 15, 2009, 02:18 PM
For weeks my links to the weather network were inconsistent. For last 24 hours it is now completely in accessible.
sorry to waste a thread on this but its hard to plan without them and i like their set up over environment cda (even though they use chimps and dart boards for forecasts).
Can somebody check so i know its not me?
http://www.theweathernetwork.com/weather/CAON0696

Your link doesn't work for me either.

but skt07's link within the link works just fine.


http://downforeveryoneorjustme.com/http://www.theweathernetwork.com/weather/CAON0696

very weird.

MannyR
Mar 15, 2009, 02:33 PM
It's just you. Find out here:

http://downforeveryoneorjustme.com/

i.e.,

http://downforeveryoneorjustme.com/http://www.theweathernetwork.com/weather/CAON0696
Good site.

sharkhark
Mar 15, 2009, 03:39 PM
Your link doesn't work for me either.

but skt07's link within the link works just fine.



very weird.

Wow...any suggestions anyone then? i have tried logging in by doing a google seach and using link..doesnt work...anything i normally use is not letting me in. funny that another user here skt07 could not either?
very odd...? some weird firefox issue?
keep in mind i have used the same firefox browser for ages and no changes and suddenly it would time out to server then suddenly yesterday no access at all.?

Leftygolfer30
Mar 15, 2009, 04:09 PM
Is it possible that you marked the site as "blocked"? Perhaps you did it in error?

I probably check that site/page 5-10 times a day and haven't experienced a recent problem that I can remember.

landlord
Mar 15, 2009, 04:18 PM
TWN works fine in Firefox except for the long-range graph, which mysteriously doesn't work. If I want that I have to switch to IE.

skt07
Mar 15, 2009, 04:27 PM
If anyone is using Firefox, make sure you're running the latest version. I'm using version 3.0.7 and have zero problems with theweathernetwork.com.

sharkhark
Mar 15, 2009, 04:43 PM
If anyone is using Firefox, make sure you're running the latest version. I'm using version 3.0.7 and have zero problems with theweathernetwork.com.
I am. and as mentioned i have been having no issues until recently. re the comment on blocking i dont know how to block a site so i dont think i could block it when i dont even know how. I did look up cookies and no block there. frustrating.

Big Shooter
Mar 15, 2009, 05:04 PM
If anyone is using Firefox, make sure you're running the latest version. I'm using version 3.0.7 and have zero problems with theweathernetwork.com.


+1^^...no problems for me!

goshawk
Mar 15, 2009, 05:04 PM
If you don't like the Weather Network, try this one.

http://www.weather.com/outlook/travel/businesstraveler/local/CAXX0504?lswe=Toronto,%20CANADA&lwsa=Weather36HourGolfCommand&from=searchbox_typeahead

You can even change it to metric if that's your preference.

sharkhark
Mar 15, 2009, 05:21 PM
If you don't like the Weather Network, try this one.

http://www.weather.com/outlook/travel/businesstraveler/local/CAXX0504?lswe=Toronto,%20CANADA&lwsa=Weather36HourGolfCommand&from=searchbox_typeahead

You can even change it to metric if that's your preference.
i love the weather network. i dont want a new site. I like to use the golfreport page. i obviously have something that went wrong as i cannot access the site anywhere. not just thru bookmarks but any access.
I am getting a server timed out error msg instantly when going there. I dont want a new site. I like the weather network. I need to figure out what i did.
Need a tech savvie answer on how to fix which is why i am asking for help with my thread topic please...someone?

Leftygolfer30
Mar 15, 2009, 05:26 PM
i love the weather network. i dont want a new site. I like to use the golfreport page. i obviously have something that went wrong as i cannot access the site anywhere. not just thru bookmarks but any access.
I am getting a server timed out error msg instantly when going there. I dont want a new site. I like the weather network. I need to figure out what i did.
Need a tech savvie answer on how to fix which is why i am asking for help with my thread topic please...someone?

Must just be you then :D



Sorry, wish I could help.

sharkhark
Mar 15, 2009, 05:31 PM
Must just be you then :D



Sorry, wish I could help.
oh trust me i realize at this point its me. somehow. but i know somebody out there tech minded knows what may have happened. I regularly do my virus scans. I do updates. I do my automatic firefox downloads. i am using the latest version. There are no current updates to download.
I have never had a problem and boom, out of blue it doesnt work. I must have something that someone good with browsers can say is the root problem. Frustrating.

goshawk
Mar 15, 2009, 05:59 PM
The only suggestion I can come up with is to delete your cookies in internet options, then try it again. Might as well delete your temporary internet files at the same time.

sharkhark
Mar 15, 2009, 06:13 PM
The only suggestion I can come up with is to delete your cookies in internet options, then try it again. Might as well delete your temporary internet files at the same time.ok will try.

edit. fixed. i repeat..fixed. loads properly. I didnt have to do cookies i just did temp internet files first as normally i like to save cookies for all the regular sites i visit, unless i should do that too?
but regardless, fixed.
such a simple solution, i should have done this first, i just did not want to lose cookies. thank you.

goshawk
Mar 15, 2009, 06:21 PM
No sweat. If everything's working properly, leave the cookies alone. Glad I could come up with a solution.

Big Shooter
Mar 16, 2009, 12:00 AM
whew, I was gonna suggest hitting the....

http://techzoogle.com/wp-content/uploads/2006/12/any%20key.jpg

sharkhark
Mar 16, 2009, 08:33 AM
whew, I was gonna suggest hitting the....

http://techzoogle.com/wp-content/uploads/2006/12/any%20key.jpg

nice!

Bellyhungry
Mar 16, 2009, 12:24 PM
Tomorrow is 14 degree, sunny, and 0% chance of percipitation.

Anyone playing?