PDA

View Full Version : Callaway E-bay auction, fishy or no?


t_dog_lxi
Feb 23, 2006, 02:01 AM
I don't know what to think about this auction, maybe I can get some advice from you guys. I don't know what to think about the outrageous shipping cost's ($300). I know some people do that to pocket more money because e-bay doesn't take anything from the shipping income right. But I still don't know how to feel about this. I want it but don't at thee same time.

P.S. Guys if this does seem legit and everything seems fine and it's a good deal to a point LET ME HAVE IF PLEASE :D

http://cgi.ebay.ca/ws/eBayISAPI.dll?ViewItem&item=7221633208

Thanks
Terry

Riviera
Feb 23, 2006, 03:59 AM
I don't know what to think about this auction, maybe I can get some advice from you guys. I don't know what to think about the outrageous shipping cost's ($300). I know some people do that to pocket more money because e-bay doesn't take anything from the shipping income right. But I still don't know how to feel about this. I want it but don't at thee same time.

P.S. Guys if this does seem legit and everything seems fine and it's a good deal to a point LET ME HAVE IF PLEASE :D

http://cgi.ebay.ca/ws/eBayISAPI.dll?ViewItem&item=7221633208

Thanks
Terry Considering the auction is for an entire set of clubs, woods included, with NO CLEAR close up photo's of anything and NO description, what so ever,combine that with the assinine shipping fee,I would not touch this auction with a ten foot pole.Some thing is DEFINATELY not right here. My guess would be fakes right off the boat.If I were you,I would avoid this one like the plague.:thumbs_do

iyell4
Feb 23, 2006, 05:42 AM
"going to DHL special customer center (fee is about $80) rest money is going to my pocket."

suspicious.... you'll have to buy them, then cross-section the heads to see if they are fakes or not.:)

dks_34
Feb 23, 2006, 06:28 AM
I would be cautious of any ebay listing where you don't get a clear picture of the clubs. I love the last picture though, it looks as though the seller clicked the camera by mistake but used the picture anyways! :rofl:

ondadl
Feb 23, 2006, 06:35 AM
The seller also sells Louis Vuitton wallets. See if you can get them to throw in a couple of those into the deal as well.




BUYER BEWARE!!!

racmbs
Feb 23, 2006, 06:55 AM
They are fakes, you can clearly see it in the photo where he's showing the soles of the fairway woods.

Experienced hoe's would know this :p :D

Stay away my friend.....not worth losing your money over. I'm sure others on this board might be able to help you out with some new/used sticks.

davevandyk
Feb 23, 2006, 07:44 AM
As i always do with eBay auctions, when in doubt, contact the seller and ask for more pics. If they don't want to give you more, you can safely assume that you should stay away from them.

Golfbum
Feb 23, 2006, 08:06 AM
You have to love his shipping charges :rofl:
Shipping Costhttp://pics.ebaystatic.com/aw/pics/s.gifServices Availablehttp://pics.ebaystatic.com/aw/pics/s.gifAvailable toUS $150.00http://pics.ebaystatic.com/aw/pics/s.gifUS Postal Service Priority Mail®http://pics.ebaystatic.com/aw/pics/s.gifUnited States onlyUS $250.00http://pics.ebaystatic.com/aw/pics/s.gifUS Postal Service Express Mail®http://pics.ebaystatic.com/aw/pics/s.gifUnited States onlyUS $300.00http://pics.ebaystatic.com/aw/pics/s.gifUSPS Global Priority Mailhttp://pics.ebaystatic.com/aw/pics/s.gifWorldwide

I have seen a set of so called TaylorMade woods and irons, all graphite shafts. Straight from China. It is so obvious they are fakes, the edges of the irons have rough edges from the casting process. Whoever built the clubs did not even bother to finish them properly :rofl:

shovellover
Feb 23, 2006, 08:38 AM
With a no reserve auction where you might get a set of Callys for 80$ then 300$ for shipping = total 380$, i'd say go for it.


BUT THAT AUCTION STINKS. I have nothing to verify it with, but it doesn't seem quite right. I'd tend to agree with the second poster. Probably right off the boat.

Talk to the seller. Ask every question in the book. Get pics. If they're anything less than helpful, walk away.

There's lots of used Callys out there. Callaway preowned has lots of good stuff, but their prices leave something to be desired. Go to 4gea.com & check out the swapshop. It's full of golfers, & everything is negotiable. Just leave a post for what you're looking for & see what comes up.

Thx, G.:)

tickyboy
Feb 23, 2006, 08:40 AM
They're fake. The sad thing is someone will probably put down a lot of money for these too. :(

Focker Singh
Feb 23, 2006, 08:48 AM
Someone should go onto Ebay and rate him and if possible, post a comment. People like this should be reported and blacklisted.

XQSmi
Feb 23, 2006, 08:49 AM
Also remember that there is no PayPal protection badge on the auction. And I don't believe the buyer protection systems of Ebay and Paypal extend to the shipping fees and only apply to the final item price. Therefore, even if you bought the thing and wanted to get your money back, you wouldn't be able to.

Ego Woods
Feb 23, 2006, 08:49 AM
I've seen this b4 with other non-golf items, where the buy-now price was ridiculuosly low and the shipping was outrageous. In the end, it's the final price that matters.

t_dog_lxi
Feb 23, 2006, 01:39 PM
Thanks guys for the helpful tips, and opinions. I know there are members on here that can sell me some Cally's, but I've been to quick in purchases before, and want to shop around before I make a decision. Plus golf season isn't going to start for a while.

I'm gonna stay away from this auction, and most likely e-bay aswell. Seems to easy to make copy cat clubs.

thanks guys
Terry

Riviera
Feb 24, 2006, 06:45 AM
I think,Terry, you can get some great deals on ebay,just make sure you know what you're buying,and research your purchase before you buy.As the old addage goes:If it seems to good to be true.......Good luck in finding some clubs.Also post a WTB add on this site,you might luck out and pay NO shipping!:D