PDA

View Full Version : Robert Rock DQ'd For Signing Incorrect Card


shankuverymuch
Jul 30, 2010, 04:04 AM
Robert Rock was DQ'd for transposed numbers on his card...,
http://www.independent.ie/sport/golf/irish-open-scorecard-nightmare-means-more-irish-agony-for-hapless-rock-2278257.html

OUCH !!!!

Lefty17
Jul 30, 2010, 06:13 AM
So much for that pick this week... :mad:

shankuverymuch
Jul 30, 2010, 06:19 AM
So much for that pick this week... :mad:

You and me both !

Ignatius Reilly
Jul 30, 2010, 09:33 AM
I HATE it when this happens. The various professional golf tours really need to work on a solution.

Signing for a correct score is obviously important - but there are many ways to ensure that the player is presented with the score that everyone watching the tournament believes he shot. He can be given the opportunity to modify or correct it, but he should NEVER be presented with an incorrect scorecard. Something seems to have gone wrong when you have hours of televised and online leaderboards, the guy walking with the group holding the sign with the current scores, and then an error like this happens in the scoring tent.

Industry works hard to ensure quality products are produced - it's a matter of looking for where errors can be introduced and eliminating or minimizing them.

I've got to believe that tours make their money by showcasing exceptional talents in a fair competition. The signing of cards is really irrelevant - what matters is that the score signed for is accurate and fair. I don't know of any fan that ignores the four days of play ("I never watch all that swinging and hitting stuff, it's so repetitive - I mean I shoot 65 every time I'm on the course..."), only to tune in for the scorecard signing ("cause that's where championships are won or lost...").

I don't think the current process is required to uphold the integrity of the game - if they cared about that, would we have seen lift/clean/place at Canada's national championship? And there are other ways to ensure that.

The current rules and procedures are designed for smaller events and are appropriate there, but out of place at the top professional tournaments.

swansong
Jul 30, 2010, 01:42 PM
This whole exchanging and signing of scorecards needs to go the way of the Dodo.

For all I love about golf there is much that I find completely unncessary and contrary to common sense...and this topic is one of those.

The exchanging and signing of scorecards reminds me of the skill testing questions we have to answer to win contest prizes here in Canada as a way of skirting the gaming/gambling laws.

wlorcb
Jul 30, 2010, 03:00 PM
This just in, the result of Super Bowl 51 has been overturned. Apparently the Colts had the Saints scoring more than the scoreboard said,so the Saints are DQ.

par72
Jul 30, 2010, 03:11 PM
Well...he finished two strokes/men out of the top 5 in the open to cost me 1/5th of 300/1....so damn you Rocky!

I guess I am the only one that is fine with the rule. Isn't part of the great game of golf the accountability in policing yourself?

Rocky never once blamed his partner, officials or the rule...only himself. That, to me, says enough about what pro players think of the rule. Not to mention what changing this rule would mean to 'what a stupid I am' Roberto Di Vincenzo and other victims of the past.

Interestingly enough Shane Lowrey said the same thing happened to him a couple years back. Is it just me or does this happen more often on the Euro Tour than the PGA? I can't recall two instances of this happening on the tour in ages.



You and me both !

mpare
Jul 30, 2010, 04:15 PM
That's unfortunate, but the player is responsible for confirming his hole by hole score. Until the rule changes, players better make sure they do it and do it right. I was DQ'd once as a teen for making this silly blunder. I have never made it again!

swansong
Jul 30, 2010, 05:00 PM
That's unfortunate, but the player is responsible for confirming his hole by hole score.

Fair enough...but wouldn't that be easier to do if you actually got to mark your own card instead of having to exchange them?

If the point is to uphold the tradition of golfers policing themselves...why the need to exchange cards as tho they can't be trusted to mark their own?

pdl16
Jul 30, 2010, 05:01 PM
This whole exchanging and signing of scorecards needs to go the way of the Dodo.

For all I love about golf there is much that I find completely unncessary and contrary to common sense...and this topic is one of those.

The exchanging and signing of scorecards reminds me of the skill testing questions we have to answer to win contest prizes here in Canada as a way of skirting the gaming/gambling laws.

I just bought a Dodo!!


http://www.dreamstime.com/dodo-bird-thumb9536726.jpg

shankuverymuch
Jul 31, 2010, 06:11 PM
I just bought a Dodo!!


http://www.dreamstime.com/dodo-bird-thumb9536726.jpg

y wife bought a Dodo one time, but it looked nothing like that.... Never mind, wrong spelling !!!!:eek::eek::eek:

pdl16
Jul 31, 2010, 06:15 PM
y wife bought a Dodo one time, but it looked nothing like that.... Never mind, wrong spelling !!!!:eek::eek::eek:

no, actually I bought my wife the dodo that time and it looked a little like dis..

http://www.istockphoto.com/file_thumbview_approve/1382615/2/istockphoto_1382615-funny-rocket.jpgshe's a big lady.

shankuverymuch
Jul 31, 2010, 06:21 PM
Back on the original topic, here's my rambling....


I shoot 70, and I sign for 71... I get 71. No 2 stroke penalty, I don't get to be a famous quote "I am a stupid".

I sign for a 70, and because I can't add, I really shot 71... I get 71.


I sign for 71, and one of my playing partners says I cheated (and it's backed up), and really I shot 72, I get DQ'd.

I sign for a 70, and my playing partners agree, and someone watching on TV decides to call in, because he thinks he has a better interpretation of the rules than me and my fellow competitors (and the rules official with us ).... Tell the viewer to have another pint, and have a nice day.

I know I didn't cover all possibilities, but

tomahawktim
Jul 31, 2010, 07:23 PM
...I sign for a 70, and because I can't add, I really shot 71... I get 71....

This is a DQ.

tomahawktim
Jul 31, 2010, 07:29 PM
The gentleman in question took responsibility for his boo boo.
Good on him for taking it like a good sport.

.....................

My opinion on this type of infraction is, "Tough titties."

Can't add, "Tough titties."

You think your competitive round is over and you can relax before signing your card, "Tough titties."

trunckslammer1
Jul 31, 2010, 08:02 PM
I sign for a 70, and because I can't add, I really shot 71... I get 71.



At the GAO level and I am sure at the professional level, you do not get DQ'd for wrong addition, but for entering the wrong score i.e. 4 instead of 5

tomahawktim
Jul 31, 2010, 08:28 PM
Sign for a number lower than your actual total, regardless of your arithmetical skills, is a DQ.

PGA, GAO, TGN, FBI, CIA, BBC, etc.. all equal DQ.

wlorcb
Jul 31, 2010, 10:41 PM
Sign for a number lower than your actual total, regardless of your arithmetical skills, is a DQ.

PGA, GAO, TGN, FBI, CIA, BBC, etc.. all equal DQ.

I don't think so:

d. Wrong Score for HoleThe competitor (http://www.usga.org/workarea/linkit.aspx?linkidentifier=id&itemid=14253#Competitor) is responsible for the correctness of the score recorded for each hole on his score card. If he returns a score for any hole lower than actually taken, he is disqualified. If he returns a score for any hole higher than actually taken, the score as returned stands.

Note 1: The Committee (http://www.usga.org/workarea/linkit.aspx?linkidentifier=id&itemid=14253#Committee) is responsible for the addition of scores and application of the handicap recorded on the score card - see Rule 33-5 (http://www.usga.org/workarea/linkit.aspx?linkidentifier=id&itemid=14318#33-5).



The player does not even have to add up his score, just make sure that his hole by hole scores are correct:

6-6d/2 Total Score Recorded by Competitor Incorrecthttp://www.usga.org/assets/0/1181/1514/5e6357ca-4421-4dab-a626-4a0fc8b9062c.gif
Q. In stroke play, a competitor returns his score card to the Committee. The hole-by-hole scores are correct, but the competitor records a total score which is one stroke lower than his actual total score. Is the competitor subject to penalty?
A. No. The competitor is responsible only for the correctness of the score recorded for each hole Rule 6-6d (http://www.usga.org/workarea/linkit.aspx?linkidentifier=id&itemid=14264#6-6). The Committee is responsible for the addition of scores Rule 33-5 (http://www.usga.org/workarea/linkit.aspx?linkidentifier=id&itemid=14318#33-5). If the competitor records a wrong total score, the Committee must correct the error, without penalty to the competitor.

TourIQ
Jul 31, 2010, 11:13 PM
y wife bought a Dodo one time, but it looked nothing like that.... Never mind, wrong spelling !!!!:eek::eek::eek:Someone not getting the job done at home?
Anyway, The BEST POST of the MONTH :rofl:

The Troll
Jul 31, 2010, 11:59 PM
At the GAO level and I am sure at the professional level, you do not get DQ'd for wrong addition, but for entering the wrong score i.e. 4 instead of 5

The slammer and wlorch are correct....you are not responsible for addition.

tomahawktim
Aug 1, 2010, 12:43 PM
Well, there you have it.
Thank you for the correct information.