Welcome!

Welcome to our community forums, full of great people, ideas and excitement. Please register if you would like to take part.

This is extra text with a test link..

Register Now

Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

rules on balls, pins, and ball in hole

Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All
new posts

  • rules on balls, pins, and ball in hole

    long story short, i was playing with a group of women the other day and 2 situations came up which caused a bit of a conundrum concerning rules.

    situation 1. par 3hole. golfer hit off tee, the pin had not been placed properly in hole by group ahead of us and her ball, had the pin been placed properly, would have gone in for a hole in one, but stopped dead because pin was laying against that side of the hole. (hole in one or no?) we told her that she should class it as a hole in one, because when the pin was rolled slightly to the side, to see if the ball would indeed fall in, it did.

    2nd situation par 5, (although par of hole does not matter), golfer hit ball up on to the green and into the hole, for a par. the rest of the group, chiped up onto the green, 1st ball and pin were still in hole and a ball was putted into hole and bounced back out. (does this count as a penalty to the person who left the ball in the hole while others were putting, or does it count as a penalty to one who putted in second?

    anyone know the rulings on these two situations.

  • #2
    Re: rules on balls, pins, and ball in hole

    Originally posted by golfmama View Post
    long story short, i was playing with a group of women the other day and 2 situations came up which caused a bit of a conundrum concerning rules.

    situation 1. par 3hole. golfer hit off tee, the pin had not been placed properly in hole by group ahead of us and her ball, had the pin been placed properly, would have gone in for a hole in one, but stopped dead because pin was laying against that side of the hole. (hole in one or no?) we told her that she should class it as a hole in one, because when the pin was rolled slightly to the side, to see if the ball would indeed fall in, it did.

    2nd situation par 5, (although par of hole does not matter), golfer hit ball up on to the green and into the hole, for a par. the rest of the group, chiped up onto the green, 1st ball and pin were still in hole and a ball was putted into hole and bounced back out. (does this count as a penalty to the person who left the ball in the hole while others were putting, or does it count as a penalty to one who putted in second?

    anyone know the rulings on these two situations.
    Situation 1:
    Rule 17-4. Ball Resting Against Flagstick
    When a player's ball rests against the flagstick in the hole and the ball is not holed, the player or another person authorized by him may move or remove the flagstick, and if the ball falls into the hole, the player is deemed to have holed out with his last stroke; otherwise, the ball, if moved, must be placed on the lip of the hole, without penalty.

    Situation 2:
    Rule 17-3. Ball Striking Flagstick or Attendant
    The player's ball must not strike:
    a. The flagstick when it is attended, removed or held up;
    b. The person attending or holding up the flagstick or anything carried by him; or
    c. The flagstick in the hole, unattended, when the stroke has been made on the putting green.

    It didn't matter that the other ball is in the hole when the putt was stroked, it cannot strike the flagstick
    U. S. Air Force, Retired

    Comment


    • #3
      Re: rules on balls, pins, and ball in hole

      Originally posted by goshawk View Post
      Situation 1:
      Rule 17-4. Ball Resting Against Flagstick
      When a player's ball rests against the flagstick in the hole and the ball is not holed, the player or another person authorized by him may move or remove the flagstick, and if the ball falls into the hole, the player is deemed to have holed out with his last stroke; otherwise, the ball, if moved, must be placed on the lip of the hole, without penalty.

      Situation 2:
      Rule 17-3. Ball Striking Flagstick or Attendant
      The player's ball must not strike:
      a. The flagstick when it is attended, removed or held up;
      b. The person attending or holding up the flagstick or anything carried by him; or
      c. The flagstick in the hole, unattended, when the stroke has been made on the putting green.

      It didn't matter that the other ball is in the hole when the putt was stroked, it cannot strike the flagstick
      great answers

      Comment


      • #4
        Re: rules on balls, pins, and ball in hole

        Goshawk...

        Situation two:

        I haven't checked the rule book on this one but I thought there is a penalty to the person who holed out if there was a ball already in the hole?
        What's In The Bag:
        Driver: Taylormade M2 9.5*
        3 Wood: Taylormade M2 15*
        Utility(s): TM Superfast 18*
        Irons: Cally Big Bertha 7-AW
        Wedge: Cleveland Forged 588 60*
        Putter: STX Sync 4

        What's In The Bag FLA:
        Driver: Talyormade M2 9*
        3 Wood: Taylormade M2 15*
        Utility(s): TM Superfast 18* Cobra 26* 32*
        Irons: Cally Big Bertha 7-AW
        Wedge: Cleveland 56* 60*
        Putter: STX Sync 4

        Comment


        • #5
          Re: rules on balls, pins, and ball in hole

          Originally posted by just123123 View Post
          Goshawk...

          Situation two:

          I haven't checked the rule book on this one but I thought there is a penalty to the person who holed out if there was a ball already in the hole?
          Don't bother, there is no such rule.
          Putting isn't golf, greens should be treated almost the same as water hazards: you land on them, then add two strokes to your score.
          - Chi Chi Rodriguez

          Comment


          • #6
            Re: rules on balls, pins, and ball in hole

            Originally posted by aaagc View Post
            Don't bother, there is no such rule.
            Of course not. That would be like penalizing someone for getting an ace right after another in the group already had one. You can't expect them to run up there to take the ball out prior to another golfer hitting, just in case.
            U. S. Air Force, Retired

            Comment


            • #7
              Re: rules on balls, pins, and ball in hole

              Originally posted by goshawk View Post
              Of course not. That would be like penalizing someone for getting an ace right after another in the group already had one. You can't expect them to run up there to take the ball out prior to another golfer hitting, just in case.

              There may not be a rule I haven't checked, but my question would only be considered if you were putting on the green and there was a ball in the hole, not hitting on to the green. But as per OP's situation2, the flagstick was in the hole therefore the putting player would be penalized.

              There is a definite rule to cover an ace etc if a ball is coming from a shot off the green and deflected by a ball already on the green. (either from a ball already in the hole or just on the green)

              Another question for you guys, what would you think would happen if there was a ball already in the hole (no flagstick) and a second ball landed in the hole and bounced out?
              Last edited by just123123; May 10, 2009, 05:56 AM.
              What's In The Bag:
              Driver: Taylormade M2 9.5*
              3 Wood: Taylormade M2 15*
              Utility(s): TM Superfast 18*
              Irons: Cally Big Bertha 7-AW
              Wedge: Cleveland Forged 588 60*
              Putter: STX Sync 4

              What's In The Bag FLA:
              Driver: Talyormade M2 9*
              3 Wood: Taylormade M2 15*
              Utility(s): TM Superfast 18* Cobra 26* 32*
              Irons: Cally Big Bertha 7-AW
              Wedge: Cleveland 56* 60*
              Putter: STX Sync 4

              Comment


              • #8
                Re: rules on balls, pins, and ball in hole

                Originally posted by just123123 View Post
                There may not be a rule I haven't checked, but my question would only be considered if you were putting on the green and there was a ball in the hole, not hitting on to the green. But as per OP's situation2, the flagstick was in the hole therefore the putting player would be penalized.

                There is a definite rule to cover an ace etc if a ball is coming from a shot off the green and deflected by a ball already on the green. (either from a ball already in the hole or just on the green)

                Another question for you guys, what would you think would happen if there was a ball already in the hole (no flagstick) and a second ball landed in the hole and bounced out?
                A ball is holed when it is at rest within the circumference of the hole and all of it is below the lip of the hole.

                If a player is dumb enough to leave someone else's ball in the hole when he plays and the ball bounces out, he deserves to lose the resulting stroke.

                Comment


                • #9
                  Re: rules on balls, pins, and ball in hole

                  Since the hole is supposed to be 4" deep, and the ball is supposed to be 1.68" in circumference, it is conceiveable that 2 balls should fit into the hole together. However, if I'm putting and someone before me holes his putt and leaves the ball in there, you can bet I'm going to ask them to get the ball out of the hole. If my ball bounces out of the hole because that ball was still in there, I'm going to be pretty pi$$ed.
                  U. S. Air Force, Retired

                  Comment


                  • #10
                    Re: rules on balls, pins, and ball in hole

                    Originally posted by just123123 View Post
                    Another question for you guys, what would you think would happen if there was a ball already in the hole (no flagstick) and a second ball landed in the hole and bounced out?
                    I'd like to hear the answer to this one too. Player A gets an ace, then Player B hits one into the cup on the fly and it bounces out.

                    If the first ball wasn't in the hole I believe Player B would be allowed to place the ball where it made contact with the other ball ... which would be in the hole.

                    OTOH, balls on the fly have been known to hit the bottom of the cup and bounce out anyway.

                    What say the rules mavens? You know who you are.

                    Comment


                    • #11
                      Re: rules on balls, pins, and ball in hole

                      I may be wrong, but my understanding is that a ball in motion that strikes another ball (regardless whether it's in the cup or not) is the "rub of the green", and it's "play it as it lies". In other words, "hellova shot, now is my ball marker in your putting line?"
                      U. S. Air Force, Retired

                      Comment


                      • #12
                        Re: rules on balls, pins, and ball in hole

                        You're most likely right. (I don't know what I was thinking when I asked the question. The ball that was stationary is the one that gets replaced as it was.)
                        Last edited by landlord; May 10, 2009, 09:10 AM. Reason: Senior brain cramp

                        Comment


                        • #13
                          Re: rules on balls, pins, and ball in hole

                          Originally posted by just123123 View Post
                          There may not be a rule I haven't checked,
                          Please be assured that there isn't.
                          Putting isn't golf, greens should be treated almost the same as water hazards: you land on them, then add two strokes to your score.
                          - Chi Chi Rodriguez

                          Comment

                          TGN Spotlight

                          Collapse

                          • TrGo
                            TGN Announcement: B/S/T Forums
                            TrGo
                            We have been hard at work trying to find a solution to allow the Original Poster to reply to their own posts within the Buy/Sell/Trade forum. Unfortunately this is something that vBulliten themselves...
                            Jul 22, 2017, 07:31 AM
                          • TrGo
                            TGN Giveaway: The Open Championship (British Open) 2017 Fantasy
                            TrGo
                            I'm excited to introduce our latest TGN Contest Giveaway for the 2017 Open Championship (British Open).

                            Here are the rules:
                            • Reply to this thread and select one player from each of the 8
                            ...
                            Jul 17, 2017, 11:13 AM

                          OUR NEWSLETTER

                          Collapse

                          * indicates required
                          Working...
                          X