Collapse

Cutting down driver shaft

X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Cutting down driver shaft

If someone could explain the weight effect of the club head after cutting down the shaft? I've been hearing you must counter balance by adding weight to head after you cut the shaft... no one ever mentions why? what happens if one doesn't? weight distribution is off which does what?

Just want to get a little more understanding on the subject.
    In the bag:
    -TaylorMade R15 driver/ aldila nv 2kxv 65g x-stiff
    -Cleveland Classic 3 Wood strong 14*
    -TaylorMade Burner 2.0 5-PW irons
    -Nike Vr 58, 54, 52 deg. wedge
    -Custom milled putter from 303SS

Re: Cutting down driver shaft

I am no expert but I did wonder the same before. In my novice explanation would be that when you do butt trim a shaft the swing weight is lost... So in my words would be its a little more headlight when you cut down the shaft much like a hammer with a shorter handle. If you want the hammer head to feel the same you would want to add the weight back on the head to counteract the effects of a shorter handle. If the weight distribution is off ie. the head is going to feel lighter maybe you will just swing it through even faster? (not 100% on that)

Thats just what I had in my head. I am not really good at explaining things so maybe some other nuts with more knowledge and are better with words can help you clear it up a little more. just my 2cent

Comment

I think I read (and people who really know please chime in) but for every inch you butt trim a shaft you lose 6 swing weight points. I've trimmed shafts as much as 3/4 inch with no issue and the club felt the same. I have added lighter grips which helps even things out some.
      Bag: PING Hoofer Camo / Moonlite Floral
      Driver: TM SIM2 MAX @ 10.5*
      Wood: TM SIM2 MAX @ 15*
      Hybrids: TM SIM2 22*
      Irons: Wishon Sterling SL 6-SW
      Wedge: KZG Forged TRS Grind 60*
      Putter: SGC WB Northwood