The Golf Industry - Looking for Advice

X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• The Golf Industry - Looking for Advice

Hey folks,

Having come to realize this forum is an outstanding resource for all things golf, and with my passion for the game developing into a borderline obsession, I've been wondering (dreaming, fantasizing, whatever you want to call it)...what would it be like to work in the golf industry?

A little background. I'm teetering on 30, and I'm a UofT graduate with an Hon.BA in English Literature, who began his career at a boutique marketing agency (for whom I still work) doing SEO - which, at the time, was a small little niche in a business otherwise devoted to other things.

Well I kinda hated that, and quickly developed a good relationship with the Director of Operations at the company, who was looking for help in Production & Project Management for our big-name Retail clients. So, I've been working in that role for the last five years, but it's evolved significantly since I began. We've gone from a heavy reliance on digital print (along with traditional offset printing) to some pretty high concept work that requires extensive metal fabrication, carpentry, lighting, etc...For my role, I am at the crux of it all - working with our internal design teams as we develop concepts, our suppliers as they build out our crazy ideas, and our clients...it's a major hybrid between production/project/account management, and it's certainly been an education. There's not a lot I can say I haven't done there, and for that I'm grateful.

All that said, my mind has been drifting lately to the idea of working in the golf industry, given my passion for the game. But, I hardly know where to begin. And as much as I'd love to be a tour pro, I think that ship sailed a long time ago...and then there's the part where I kinda stink (for now...)