Collapse

Dentonia

X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Dentonia

I'm fairly new to the east end (well not that new, 4 years now) and finally got around to playing a round at Dentonia yesterday as it's 10 minutes from my house. All in all I had a great time, course was in great condition and it wasn't too busy. I'll be back.

Some tid bits...

- I showed up just after 10:00 and walked on as a single and finished my round in just under 2 hours.
    - I caught up with the foursome ahead around the 5th hole or so, played through and then ended up playing through two more groups by the time I reached the turn. Open course after that.
    - One thing I chuckled at was seeing one of the maintenance guys give me a thumbs up from his lawnmower after spotted me fixing my ball mark. It got me to thinking that many of the newer beginner golfers must not always fix their marks or repair their divots (based on his reaction).
    - The mats are awful to hit off of, thankfully their are only a few. Crazy though that there is a mat on that 185 yard hole. I ended up jamming a little tee into it at a seem - ended up knocking a chocked up hybrid to the back fringe with a little hop of the cart path
    - I'm an average golfer just looking to get a quick round in and practice my short game. Ended up shooting 72, took a few silly doubles that I really shouldn't have. Going to try to break 70 next time!

- One thing that I found frustrating was trying to figure out my yardages. Their were a few holes listed over 100 yards that couldn't have been more than 70. It makes for trying to hone in your distances really difficult. In fact their were some shots that I struck well only to find myself 20 yards long. I'd be tempted to bring a range finder, but would that look a little pretentious on such a beginner course? Especially when bogey golf is about my level of skill?

All in all it was enjoyable and due to proximity a perfect place for a quick short game outing.

Re: Dentonia