Toronto Golf Nuts - Greater Toronto Area Golf Forum  


Go Back   Toronto Golf Nuts - Greater Toronto Area Golf Forum > Golf Discussion Forum > Rules and Etiquette
Forgot Password? Join Us!

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old May 8, 2009, 07:19 PM   #1
golfmama
Banned
 
golfmama's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 14, 2008
Location: Toronto
Posts: 346
Default rules on balls, pins, and ball in hole

long story short, i was playing with a group of women the other day and 2 situations came up which caused a bit of a conundrum concerning rules.

situation 1. par 3hole. golfer hit off tee, the pin had not been placed properly in hole by group ahead of us and her ball, had the pin been placed properly, would have gone in for a hole in one, but stopped dead because pin was laying against that side of the hole. (hole in one or no?) we told her that she should class it as a hole in one, because when the pin was rolled slightly to the side, to see if the ball would indeed fall in, it did.

2nd situation par 5, (although par of hole does not matter), golfer hit ball up on to the green and into the hole, for a par. the rest of the group, chiped up onto the green, 1st ball and pin were still in hole and a ball was putted into hole and bounced back out. (does this count as a penalty to the person who left the ball in the hole while others were putting, or does it count as a penalty to one who putted in second?

anyone know the rulings on these two situations.
golfmama is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 8, 2009, 07:36 PM   #2
goshawk
Toronto Ryder Cup Member
 
goshawk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 10, 2006
Location: City of Markham, with forays to Tampa
Posts: 17,524
Default Re: rules on balls, pins, and ball in hole

Quote:
Originally Posted by golfmama View Post
long story short, i was playing with a group of women the other day and 2 situations came up which caused a bit of a conundrum concerning rules.

situation 1. par 3hole. golfer hit off tee, the pin had not been placed properly in hole by group ahead of us and her ball, had the pin been placed properly, would have gone in for a hole in one, but stopped dead because pin was laying against that side of the hole. (hole in one or no?) we told her that she should class it as a hole in one, because when the pin was rolled slightly to the side, to see if the ball would indeed fall in, it did.

2nd situation par 5, (although par of hole does not matter), golfer hit ball up on to the green and into the hole, for a par. the rest of the group, chiped up onto the green, 1st ball and pin were still in hole and a ball was putted into hole and bounced back out. (does this count as a penalty to the person who left the ball in the hole while others were putting, or does it count as a penalty to one who putted in second?

anyone know the rulings on these two situations.
Situation 1:
Rule 17-4. Ball Resting Against Flagstick
When a player's ball rests against the flagstick in the hole and the ball is not holed, the player or another person authorized by him may move or remove the flagstick, and if the ball falls into the hole, the player is deemed to have holed out with his last stroke; otherwise, the ball, if moved, must be placed on the lip of the hole, without penalty.

Situation 2:
Rule 17-3. Ball Striking Flagstick or Attendant
The player's ball must not strike:
a. The flagstick when it is attended, removed or held up;
b. The person attending or holding up the flagstick or anything carried by him; or
c. The flagstick in the hole, unattended, when the stroke has been made on the putting green.

It didn't matter that the other ball is in the hole when the putt was stroked, it cannot strike the flagstick
__________________
The Name of the Game is Consistency!
goshawk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 9, 2009, 02:38 PM   #3
rmunding
Banned
 
rmunding's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 29, 2008
Location: Toronto
Posts: 516
Default Re: rules on balls, pins, and ball in hole

Quote:
Originally Posted by goshawk View Post
Situation 1:
Rule 17-4. Ball Resting Against Flagstick
When a player's ball rests against the flagstick in the hole and the ball is not holed, the player or another person authorized by him may move or remove the flagstick, and if the ball falls into the hole, the player is deemed to have holed out with his last stroke; otherwise, the ball, if moved, must be placed on the lip of the hole, without penalty.

Situation 2:
Rule 17-3. Ball Striking Flagstick or Attendant
The player's ball must not strike:
a. The flagstick when it is attended, removed or held up;
b. The person attending or holding up the flagstick or anything carried by him; or
c. The flagstick in the hole, unattended, when the stroke has been made on the putting green.

It didn't matter that the other ball is in the hole when the putt was stroked, it cannot strike the flagstick
great answers
rmunding is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 9, 2009, 03:17 PM   #4
just123123
Tour Pro
 
just123123's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 8, 2005
Location: Toronto/Miami
Posts: 1,566
Default Re: rules on balls, pins, and ball in hole

Goshawk...

Situation two:

I haven't checked the rule book on this one but I thought there is a penalty to the person who holed out if there was a ball already in the hole?
__________________
What's In The Bag:
Driver: Taylormade SLDR 9.5*
3 Wood: Honma BigLB 15*
Utility(s): TM Superfast 18*,21*
Irons: Nike Pro Forged Blade 5-PW
Wedge:Cleveland Forged 588 52* 56* 60*
Putter: STX Sync 4

What's In The Bag FLA:
Driver: Taylormade SLDR 9.5*
3 Wood: Titleist 910F 15*
Utility(s): TM Superfast 18* 21* Cobra 26* 32*
Irons: Titleist PM Blade 7-PW
Wedge: Titlist Vokey SM 52* 56* 60*
Putter: Yes Victoria II
just123123 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 9, 2009, 05:06 PM   #5
aaagc
Tour Pro
 
Join Date: Sep 2, 2005
Posts: 1,508
Default Re: rules on balls, pins, and ball in hole

Quote:
Originally Posted by just123123 View Post
Goshawk...

Situation two:

I haven't checked the rule book on this one but I thought there is a penalty to the person who holed out if there was a ball already in the hole?
Don't bother, there is no such rule.
__________________
Putting isn't golf, greens should be treated almost the same as water hazards: you land on them, then add two strokes to your score.
- Chi Chi Rodriguez
aaagc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 9, 2009, 05:20 PM   #6
goshawk
Toronto Ryder Cup Member
 
goshawk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 10, 2006
Location: City of Markham, with forays to Tampa
Posts: 17,524
Default Re: rules on balls, pins, and ball in hole

Quote:
Originally Posted by aaagc View Post
Don't bother, there is no such rule.
Of course not. That would be like penalizing someone for getting an ace right after another in the group already had one. You can't expect them to run up there to take the ball out prior to another golfer hitting, just in case.
__________________
The Name of the Game is Consistency!
goshawk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 9, 2009, 08:10 PM   #7
just123123
Tour Pro
 
just123123's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 8, 2005
Location: Toronto/Miami
Posts: 1,566
Default Re: rules on balls, pins, and ball in hole

Quote:
Originally Posted by goshawk View Post
Of course not. That would be like penalizing someone for getting an ace right after another in the group already had one. You can't expect them to run up there to take the ball out prior to another golfer hitting, just in case.

There may not be a rule I haven't checked, but my question would only be considered if you were putting on the green and there was a ball in the hole, not hitting on to the green. But as per OP's situation2, the flagstick was in the hole therefore the putting player would be penalized.

There is a definite rule to cover an ace etc if a ball is coming from a shot off the green and deflected by a ball already on the green. (either from a ball already in the hole or just on the green)

Another question for you guys, what would you think would happen if there was a ball already in the hole (no flagstick) and a second ball landed in the hole and bounced out?
__________________
What's In The Bag:
Driver: Taylormade SLDR 9.5*
3 Wood: Honma BigLB 15*
Utility(s): TM Superfast 18*,21*
Irons: Nike Pro Forged Blade 5-PW
Wedge:Cleveland Forged 588 52* 56* 60*
Putter: STX Sync 4

What's In The Bag FLA:
Driver: Taylormade SLDR 9.5*
3 Wood: Titleist 910F 15*
Utility(s): TM Superfast 18* 21* Cobra 26* 32*
Irons: Titleist PM Blade 7-PW
Wedge: Titlist Vokey SM 52* 56* 60*
Putter: Yes Victoria II

Last edited by just123123; May 10, 2009 at 05:56 AM.
just123123 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 10, 2009, 06:43 AM   #8
Shadow
Tour Pro
 
Join Date: Nov 22, 2004
Location: Ottawa
Posts: 2,101
Default Re: rules on balls, pins, and ball in hole

Quote:
Originally Posted by just123123 View Post
There may not be a rule I haven't checked, but my question would only be considered if you were putting on the green and there was a ball in the hole, not hitting on to the green. But as per OP's situation2, the flagstick was in the hole therefore the putting player would be penalized.

There is a definite rule to cover an ace etc if a ball is coming from a shot off the green and deflected by a ball already on the green. (either from a ball already in the hole or just on the green)

Another question for you guys, what would you think would happen if there was a ball already in the hole (no flagstick) and a second ball landed in the hole and bounced out?
A ball is holed when it is at rest within the circumference of the hole and all of it is below the lip of the hole.

If a player is dumb enough to leave someone else's ball in the hole when he plays and the ball bounces out, he deserves to lose the resulting stroke.
Shadow is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 10, 2009, 06:58 AM   #9
goshawk
Toronto Ryder Cup Member
 
goshawk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 10, 2006
Location: City of Markham, with forays to Tampa
Posts: 17,524
Default Re: rules on balls, pins, and ball in hole

Since the hole is supposed to be 4" deep, and the ball is supposed to be 1.68" in circumference, it is conceiveable that 2 balls should fit into the hole together. However, if I'm putting and someone before me holes his putt and leaves the ball in there, you can bet I'm going to ask them to get the ball out of the hole. If my ball bounces out of the hole because that ball was still in there, I'm going to be pretty pi$$ed.
__________________
The Name of the Game is Consistency!
goshawk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 10, 2009, 07:36 AM   #10
landlord
Tour Pro
 
Join Date: Mar 27, 2006
Location: East York
Posts: 5,240
Default Re: rules on balls, pins, and ball in hole

Quote:
Originally Posted by just123123 View Post
Another question for you guys, what would you think would happen if there was a ball already in the hole (no flagstick) and a second ball landed in the hole and bounced out?
I'd like to hear the answer to this one too. Player A gets an ace, then Player B hits one into the cup on the fly and it bounces out.

If the first ball wasn't in the hole I believe Player B would be allowed to place the ball where it made contact with the other ball ... which would be in the hole.

OTOH, balls on the fly have been known to hit the bottom of the cup and bounce out anyway.

What say the rules mavens? You know who you are.
landlord is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 10, 2009, 07:58 AM   #11
goshawk
Toronto Ryder Cup Member
 
goshawk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 10, 2006
Location: City of Markham, with forays to Tampa
Posts: 17,524
Default Re: rules on balls, pins, and ball in hole

I may be wrong, but my understanding is that a ball in motion that strikes another ball (regardless whether it's in the cup or not) is the "rub of the green", and it's "play it as it lies". In other words, "hellova shot, now is my ball marker in your putting line?"
__________________
The Name of the Game is Consistency!
goshawk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 10, 2009, 09:01 AM   #12
landlord
Tour Pro
 
Join Date: Mar 27, 2006
Location: East York
Posts: 5,240
Default Re: rules on balls, pins, and ball in hole

You're most likely right. (I don't know what I was thinking when I asked the question. The ball that was stationary is the one that gets replaced as it was.)

Last edited by landlord; May 10, 2009 at 09:10 AM. Reason: Senior brain cramp
landlord is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 10, 2009, 10:23 AM   #13
aaagc
Tour Pro
 
Join Date: Sep 2, 2005
Posts: 1,508
Default Re: rules on balls, pins, and ball in hole

Quote:
Originally Posted by just123123 View Post
There may not be a rule I haven't checked,
Please be assured that there isn't.
__________________
Putting isn't golf, greens should be treated almost the same as water hazards: you land on them, then add two strokes to your score.
- Chi Chi Rodriguez
aaagc is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:02 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Terms of Service / Privacy