Welcome!

Welcome to our community forums, full of great people, ideas and excitement. Please register if you would like to take part.

This is extra text with a test link..

Register Now

Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

New to golf. Advice on improving my swing?

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• New to golf. Advice on improving my swing?

Hi folks

Im new to golf this year. Have taken 5 lessons with a pro and have made considerable progress. I can drive 220-250 but was really slicing it often, so Iíve focused on slowing down and getting the ball to go straight. I am still often heeling the ball but itís going straight more often now.

Watching my video it seems I donít move my hips and shoulders enough to generate power. Any advice on how to improve this without losing control? Or general advice is welcome as well.

https://youtu.be/mNqyFMEhHXU

https://youtu.be/3aZf9nqo0bA

thanks in advance!

Not bad for first year.
    Your wrists are locked up and the club doesn't set. If you could work on getting more fluid in your wrists the club would reach parallel in your backswing thereby increasing the size of your arc and with changing nothing else, this would add a few MPH to you swing speed and add yards.
    Work with your coach on SWAY. You sway a bit in your backswing which messes with your lowpoint (fat iron and wedge shots) but also saps you of some power as you need more timing in your downswing to crack the whip.