Welcome!

Welcome to our community forums, full of great people, ideas and excitement. Please register if you would like to take part.

This is extra text with a test link..

Register Now

Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

Which golfer are you?

Collapse
X
 
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All
new posts

  • #31
    If I were ever in a competitive match I probably wouldn't count my opponents, unless it seemed obvious they were hauling a ton of clubs. I would make sure I don't have more than allowed, and pretty much never carry more than the allowed. I am just a casual weekend warrior. Not sure I have ever played a competitive game, unless it was way back when I had my junior membership at the local 9 hole muni many years ago.

    Comment


    • #32
      If I were in a tournament, which I never have been, I suppose I would draw my opponent's attention to it.

      But I only ever play casual rounds, and I typically only play against people who are at a similar skill level to myself, which is "break 90 on a good day." An extra club is not going to make a difference to anyone at that skill level, so I'd feel like an a-hole if I called him/her on it. They'd be unlikely to use all fifteen clubs anyway, and honestly, I'd feel pretty good at my chances of beating a 20+ handicapper who tried to go through an entire bag of fourteen, let alone fifteen clubs in one round, so let 'em try.

      Comment


      • #33
        I wouldn’t count someone’s clubs but if I did notice would tell them right away and if it was match play it would be my business because it would be an unfair advantage.

        Comment


        • #34
          Originally posted by Weirfan View Post
          9/10 I would definitely inform my opponent. The other time is reserved for for those Who are known cheaters/sandbaggers.
          I’m with you on this.
          Driver - Cobra F7
          Fwy Metals - TM M2 3+5
          Hybrids - TM SLDR 4+5
          Irons - TM M4 6-AW
          Wedges - King Cobra 54+58
          Putter - Scotty GoLo5r

          PAEUNGOO NAEMSAE

          Comment


          • #35
            How about this - you're playing a match and your opponent has more than 14 clubs but you don't notice until a few holes have already been played. The penalty for your opponent is loss of every hole played thus far. Do you call it or not?
            Cobra Cart Bag
            Cobra F8+ Aldila NV Green
            Cobra F7 3w 5w 7w
            Mizuno JPX-900 Hot Metal 5i-GW
            Callaway MD3 54-S,58-C
            Odyssey White Hot Rx #7

            Comment


            • #36
              Originally posted by WeekendDuff View Post
              How about this - you're playing a match and your opponent has more than 14 clubs but you don't notice until a few holes have already been played. The penalty for your opponent is loss of every hole played thus far. Do you call it or not?
              Is the penalty not a maximum of 2 holes ?
              "Don't cry because it's over, Smile because it happened "

              Comment


              • #37
                Originally posted by Weirfan View Post

                Is the penalty not a maximum of 2 holes ?
                It is.

                I checked, in case the new rules were different.

                Two things I learned:

                The penalty is a "match adjustment" - not loss of hole. You just adjust the status of the match by up to 2 holes.

                You are now allowed to carry the extra club(s) if you discover it in time. IIRC under the previous rules, you were not allowed to bring the excess clubs with you, even if you took them out of the bag and put them somewhere else in the cart. You can now declare what you're doing and put them aside or upside down in the bag or some other clear way of differentiating them. Good change, IMO.
                "Confusion" will be my epitaph
                ...Iggy

                Comment


                • #38
                  Originally posted by TheBaconator View Post
                  I would tell my opponent right away. Winning by pulling out a “gotcha” halfway through the match has no appeal to me.
                  This ^^^^
                  Sage of the GTA...

                  Comment


                  • #39
                    Originally posted by mpare View Post
                    I always count my clubs to make sure there aren't more than 14 in the bag. I never go out of my way to count my opponents. However, if I noticed that my opponent had more than 14 clubs, then I'd tell him before we teed off. Years ago, as a junior in Maine I told my opponent, a man much older than me, that he had 15 clubs in his bag, and that he might want to remove one. He responded angrily that I should mind my own business. I smiled and told him that the pro was only a few feet away, and that we should have a chat with him. The extra club was removed. Oh, and he lost the match, which was played in 1966. The encounter stuck with me.
                    You're a better man than I, Mike.

                    IMO, if I advise him that he's about to breach a rule and he tells me to mind my own business, then I will do exactly that. Out on the course, it is my business to know whether my opponent has breached any rules and to act accordingly within the rules. At the appropriate time of my choice, I would call him on it.

                    That approach contradicts how I would respond if my opponent made an honest mistake. Again, IMO, two completely different scenarios.
                    Sage of the GTA...

                    Comment


                    • #40
                      Originally posted by johnny canuck View Post
                      Played a match 2 weeks ago and my opponent from another club was going to take an unplayable drop. He didn't understand the line of sight rule correctly and I stopped him before he took an incorrect drop.
                      Just out of curiosity, what was it that he didn't understand?

                      I ask because many people I know are not even aware of all of the options for an unplayable ball.
                      Sage of the GTA...

                      Comment


                      • #41
                        Originally posted by Ignatius Reilly View Post

                        The penalty is a "match adjustment" - not loss of hole. You just adjust the status of the match by up to 2 holes.

                        You are now allowed to carry the extra club(s) if you discover it in time. IIRC under the previous rules, you were not allowed to bring the excess clubs with you, even if you took them out of the bag and put them somewhere else in the cart. You can now declare what you're doing and put them aside or upside down in the bag or some other clear way of differentiating them. Good change, IMO.
                        Thanks for that, I forgot there was a two-hole max penalty - or maybe I never knew that in the first place!
                        Cobra Cart Bag
                        Cobra F8+ Aldila NV Green
                        Cobra F7 3w 5w 7w
                        Mizuno JPX-900 Hot Metal 5i-GW
                        Callaway MD3 54-S,58-C
                        Odyssey White Hot Rx #7

                        Comment


                        • #42
                          Originally posted by Ignatius Reilly View Post

                          The penalty is a "match adjustment" - not loss of hole. You just adjust the status of the match by up to 2 holes.
                          Which means that you could be 4 down after 2 holes. Whoops.....
                          Sage of the GTA...

                          Comment


                          • #43
                            Originally posted by Benz View Post

                            Which means that you could be 4 down after 2 holes. Whoops.....
                            It took me a second, but I believe you're right!.

                            Ouch!

                            "Confusion" will be my epitaph
                            ...Iggy

                            Comment


                            • #44
                              If it's a match that means something, eg, a club event, I will check the opponent's bag, and make sure that I tell him or her before the round begins if there are more than 14.
                              As a referee, I always introduce myself to the players (and caddies) on the first tee and ask them to check the number of clubs. I also tell them that I'm there to apply the Rules and help them with that, finishing by asking them to "play nice and don't cheat", which usually ends on a light-hearted note.

                              Comment


                              • #45
                                What if his Secret Service detail won't let you close to his bag?

                                Comment


                                Join The TGN Email List

                                Collapse

                                Recently Joined

                                Collapse

                                Topics: 175,090   Posts: 1,832,656   Members: 47,363   Active Members: 275
                                Welcome to our newest member, Bobier21Golf.

                                Today's Birthdays

                                Collapse

                                PGA Leaderboard

                                Collapse


                                TGN Sponsors

                                Working...
                                X