Welcome!

Welcome to our community forums, full of great people, ideas and excitement. Please register if you would like to take part.

This is extra text with a test link..

Register Now

Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

You can not convince me of the stupidity of rules after reading this story.....

Collapse
X
 
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All
new posts

  • You can not convince me of the stupidity of rules after reading this story.....

    https://golfweek.com/2019/10/07/high...ish-before-dq/

    Sorry just idiotic & needs to be addressed..... Along with a # of other rules imo.

  • #2
    Yup very stupid. Especially considering her playing partner messed it up. Yes she shoulda caught it but cmon. Theyre kids. Should not be a DQ. Shouldnt even be a penalty considering she was the only one who knew. Adjust score and be done.
    Driver------TM M6 (9) Fujikura Pro 2.0 Tour Spec 6X 45.25"
    3W---------TM M3 (16) Fujikura Atmos Red Tour Spec 7X 43.25"
    5W---------TM M3 (19) Fujikura Atmos Red Tour Spec 7X 42.25"
    3i-----------TM TP UDI (20.5) Dynamic Gold X100
    Irons-------Mizuno MP4 (4-PW) Modus 3 125X
    Wedges---TM Milled Grind Modus 3 125X (48) & TM Hi-Toe (54)(60) Modus 3 125 Wedge
    Putter------TM Spider Tour Black (DJ) 34" SS Pistol GTR

    Comment


    • #3
      Originally posted by golfingtime View Post
      https://golfweek.com/2019/10/07/high...ish-before-dq/

      Sorry just idiotic & needs to be addressed..... Along with a # of other rules imo.
      Hasn't been addressed in the past 51 years ... don't hold your breath.

      Comment


      • #4
        Players themselves are solely responsible for signing and submitting a correct scorecard. That is why in each and every competition , every player sits down and reconciles what they have on their card with what the marker has down. The score on the live scoring app is irrelevant, those are just for allowing followers to see how things are...Ive played in many competitions that use scoring apps and but every player reviews each hole on the official card before signing and submitting , the signed scorecard is what counts.

        unfortunately, a bad mistake from a young and inexperienced golfer who will learn from it and probably never do it again. Thankfully she had the integrity to acknowledge her error.

        "When they sat down after the round to double-check the scores, Parrott made a mistake by not looking over the scorecard more closely."
        "Don't cry because it's over, Smile because it happened "

        Comment


        • #5
          Originally posted by Jasonp View Post
          . Theyre kids. Should not be a DQ. Shouldnt even be a penalty
          She is 17, there are players that young and younger who play in PGA and LPGA events...are you suggesting that because they are kids they should not need to have to follow the rules of golf in competitive play ? That would certainly make things interesting at the Masters, ok anybody under 18, you don't have to follow the rules of golf, just submit whatever you want on your scorecard
          "Don't cry because it's over, Smile because it happened "

          Comment


          • #6
            Originally posted by Weirfan View Post

            She is 17, there are players that young and younger who play in PGA and LPGA events...are you suggesting that because they are kids they should not need to have to follow the rules of golf in competitive play ? That would certainly make things interesting at the Masters, ok anybody under 18, you don't have to follow the rules of golf, just submit whatever you want on your scorecard
            She addressed it before the the results were official. She should not have been disqualified.....

            BTW how many people get on a Podium nowadays?????

            Comment


            • #7
              Originally posted by golfingtime View Post

              She addressed it before the the results were official. She should not have been disqualified.....
              Unfortunately for her, she had submitted and signed her card already. If the results were still unofficial , it likely means not all the golfers had submitted their cards yet.

              It sucks but it is a rule in place , as with other rules, to protect the field. We might as well just let the, all pick up all 3 foot or less putts as some cheaters do

              the rules are very clear and every player knows that it is 100% their responsibility..... the rule so it should not be a surprise to her or any other golfer she was DQ'd.

              "Under the United States Golf Association’s Rules of Golf, a person other than the player, known as a “marker,” is typically responsible for keeping a player’s score during a competition. At the end of the day, however, the player is responsible for presenting his score accurately to the tournament committee. Signing an incorrect scorecard carries serious penalties.

              Scorecard

              Players are furnished with scorecards at the beginning any competition that’s played according to the Rules of Golf. According to Rule 6-6b,

              when the round or match is over, the player should double-check the scorecard and be certain the score for each hole is correct. She should resolve any points of contention with the tournament committee, then sign the card and return it to the committee as soon as possible.


              Signing an Incorrect Scorecard


              Under Rule 6-6d, each player is “responsible for the correctness of the score recorded for each hole on his score card.” If a player signs -- known as attesting -- a card in which the score for any hole is lower than his actual performance, he is disqualified from the competition. This applies even if another person kept his score during the round. If a player signs a card in which the score for any hole is higher than his actual performance, that higher score becomes his official score for that hole."
              "Don't cry because it's over, Smile because it happened "

              Comment


              • #8
                Originally posted by Weirfan View Post

                Unfortunately for her, she had submitted and signed her card already. If the results were still unofficial , it likely means not all the golfers had submitted their cards yet.

                It sucks but it is a rule in place , as with other rules, to protect the field. We might as well just let the, all pick up all 3 foot or less putts as some cheaters do

                the rules are very clear and every player knows that it is 100% their responsibility..... the rule so it should not be a surprise to her or any other golfer she was DQ'd.

                "Under the United States Golf Association’s Rules of Golf, a person other than the player, known as a “marker,” is typically responsible for keeping a player’s score during a competition. At the end of the day, however, the player is responsible for presenting his score accurately to the tournament committee. Signing an incorrect scorecard carries serious penalties.

                Scorecard

                Players are furnished with scorecards at the beginning any competition that’s played according to the Rules of Golf. According to Rule 6-6b,

                when the round or match is over, the player should double-check the scorecard and be certain the score for each hole is correct. She should resolve any points of contention with the tournament committee, then sign the card and return it to the committee as soon as possible.


                Signing an Incorrect Scorecard


                Under Rule 6-6d, each player is “responsible for the correctness of the score recorded for each hole on his score card.” If a player signs -- known as attesting -- a card in which the score for any hole is lower than his actual performance, he is disqualified from the competition. This applies even if another person kept his score during the round. If a player signs a card in which the score for any hole is higher than his actual performance, that higher score becomes his official score for that hole."
                Blah blah blah blah blah...... A rule is a rule..... I get it & we can agree to disagree that I think it is GARBAGE!!!!!!!!

                Comment


                • #9
                  Originally posted by golfingtime View Post

                  I think it is GARBAGE!!!!!!!!
                  Well that Covers 99% of your posts on this forum Anthony.....under your several banned previous usernames
                  "Don't cry because it's over, Smile because it happened "

                  Comment


                  • #10
                    Originally posted by Weirfan View Post

                    Well that Covers 99% of your posts on this forum Anthony.....under your several banned previous usernames
                    Missing the point of the thread again Peter..... The point of the thread is I think it is wrong, not the RULES. Not surprised at all.....

                    Comment


                    • #11
                      I dont think this rule is harsh. Its the player's responsibility to make sure what is being submitted as official score is correct, whether her own marking or someone else does it is irrelevant. They are teenagers, not 6 years old. They should be responsible and accept the consequences of carelessness.
                      As others have said, live score is NOT the official score, its just to update the leader board.

                      Kudo to her to report it. Thats integrity.

                      Comment


                      • #12
                        Golf's rules are inviolable and stringent. Without it, the game (it is just a game after all) at the competitive level, IMO, is meaningless. She owned up to her violation, it builds strong character and I would bet that moving forward it will be greatly beneficial to her golf game or any endeavor she takes on.

                        Comment


                        • #13
                          Originally posted by golfingtime View Post
                          https://golfweek.com/2019/10/07/high...ish-before-dq/

                          Sorry just idiotic & needs to be addressed..... Along with a # of other rules imo.
                          Why. There was no complaint from the player. She knew the rule and knew she got it wrong was prepared for the outcome.
                          A very honourable young lady.
                          Putting isn't golf, greens should be treated almost the same as water hazards: you land on them, then add two strokes to your score.
                          - Chi Chi Rodriguez

                          Comment


                          • #14
                            Originally posted by golfingtime View Post

                            Blah blah blah blah blah...... A rule is a rule..... I get it & we can agree to disagree that I think it is GARBAGE!!!!!!!!
                            Fully agree with this. Most people do I find. Golf is so stupid sometimes.
                            Over thinking, over analyzing separates the body from the mind.

                            Comment


                            • #15
                              It's a simple rule if you can't even get your scorecard correct why bother playing competitive golf.
                              Great job on her part very honorable of her on reporting it.

                              Comment


                              Join The TGN Email List

                              Collapse

                              Recently Joined

                              Collapse

                              Topics: 173,543   Posts: 1,814,918   Members: 47,104   Active Members: 171
                              Welcome to our newest member, kaze1234ify.

                              Today's Birthdays

                              Collapse

                              PGA Leaderboard

                              Collapse


                              TGN Sponsors

                              Working...
                              X