Collapse

Optivibe/Tour Lock

X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Optivibe/Tour Lock

I was trying to extend the shaft on a putter I had, and the only thing I had to use was a metal rod that went about 10" into the existing shaft before snugging up. I cut it off at the length I wanted, put a grip on it, and rolled a few putts. I was surprised to find that the putter went back and forward dead str8, with no effort on my part, and long putts were easier to start on line. I checked and the balance point had moved about 6" closer to my hands. Based on this experience (and what I found on the internet), I have ordered a number of the optivibe and tour lock weights to try in my other clubs. I've had no experience with these, but is there a combination I should start with for my driver, irons, wedges?
    Golf is only as hard as you swing.

Re: Optivibe/Tour Lock

There is plenty of information on the positive effects of counterbalancing/ backweighting, just do a search. Guys like Leith Anderson at the golf lab have compiled large data bases on the positive results achieved by the majority of golfers. Tim Hewitt is another who tested hundreds of golfers.

I posted the results of two studies in the "do you care about swingweight
    " thread. But to summarize them, many golfers get increased distance ( 1 club) and increased accuracy when the proper amount of back is applied.

Just be forewarned that dialing in the correct amount of weight for your particular situation WILL take some trial and error and involve testing with several different weights. That is why I typically suggest people buy 3 weights to start. I highlybrecommend the Tour Loc Pro, easybto install and uninstall for your experimentation.
    Perhaps start with an 8, 16 or 20 and a 30 grams weight.

In my experience there is no set presc ription for what will work person to person, but generally people fall in the 20 - 50 grams in the driver/woods and 8-20 for the irons.