Collapse

New to everything.

X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• New to everything.

Hey, all. I am new to the sport of golf. I've been to the driving range maybe 3 times over a two-year span and used the drivers they've got there, or a friend's clubs (strictly entry-level equipment).

What I'd like to know is if a cheapo starter set of clubs will suit its purpose if my main desire is simply to launch some balls every now and then on a nice day out. I've read a handful of posts here suggesting to look at the Buy/Sell forum for deals on used equipment and wonder if I should just buy something that a more avid golfer no longer has any use for - I'm keen on the family of drivers tasker's selling, just because they appear to have been used by someone who knows what he's doing, are in good condition, and are modestly priced.

I realize most newbies start off with the same "just-wanna-send-balls-flying" mentality, and that real golf is putting and short game (is that even correct terminology?) - but really, I'd just like to work on my swing and go from there. If I catch the bug, I'll spring for lessons.

Oh, I stand about 6'4, 6'5. I imagine if I ever got serious I'd have to have clubs customized for my height - is this what "fitting" is, and how much does it run per club?

Thanks in advance for any advice/insight offered, and apologies to the hardcore golf heads shaking their heads while reading this post.

Re: New to everything.

Originally posted by Happy View Post
    Oh, I stand about 6'4, 6'5. I imagine if I ever got serious I'd have to have clubs customized for my height - is this what "fitting" is, and how much does it run per club?
    Your height may not necessarily mean you need custom fitting.

If your "hand height from ground", hand size, swing speed, are all "average", then "off the rack" clubs could work.

A visit to one of the custom clubmakers or filling out / sending your info to one of the online fitters should tell you where fitting will help.