Re: NO Penalty for Using Discarded Tee
Well his correct quote is cited as from the USGA. However, many of us are anal enough to be uneasy when accepting quotes. It happens that I have a very good example regarding this exact point.
Last season, one of our members used the ask a rules question facility on the RCGA web site to ask this very question. The email answer he received back was "No such an action is allowed". This immediately threw our club into a tizzy since he copied the response to the Pro's and the GM as well as discussing it with the members of our Senior Men's League. As happens, several people came to me. It took me a minute or two, but the problem is obvious. What the responder meant to say was, "No, such an action is allowed". I followed up with the individual at the RCGA who did not seem to be overly concerned that his missing comma could have led a whole group of people astray for years to come had it not been nipped in the bud.
Originally posted by AlfaGolfer
View Post
Last season, one of our members used the ask a rules question facility on the RCGA web site to ask this very question. The email answer he received back was "No such an action is allowed". This immediately threw our club into a tizzy since he copied the response to the Pro's and the GM as well as discussing it with the members of our Senior Men's League. As happens, several people came to me. It took me a minute or two, but the problem is obvious. What the responder meant to say was, "No, such an action is allowed". I followed up with the individual at the RCGA who did not seem to be overly concerned that his missing comma could have led a whole group of people astray for years to come had it not been nipped in the bud.
Comment