/**/

Collapse

Announcement

No announcement yet.
Collapse

Rule Scenario

X
 
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All
new posts

  • Rule Scenario

    Ok my name is Scott Mackay I play golf almost every day, and I have some questions about rules:

    Ok so let’s say I hit my ball up onto the green and one of my playing partners marks my ball. Does he have to replace it? And if he does have to replace it and he doesn’t do I get a two stroke penalty..

    Let’s say I am in a bunker and I take the rake into the bunker with me and drop it right beside my ball, is this a two stroke penalty? I am pretty sure it is my my golf coach says different.

    One more and I am done, So if I forgot my putter at home and was playing a round and I putted on the front nine with my driver, then at the turn my mother comes and gives me my putter. Would this be altering your equipment during a round?


    I was in a tournament today and all of these things happened to someone in my four-sum, I know most of the rules about golf, but not these ones. Help anyone

  • #2
    Re: Rule Scenario

    In situation one, it is necessary for your partner to replace the ball. Once it's marked and lifted, only the person lifting it can replace it. Rule 20.3a
    Situation two: touching the sand with your club is not allowed. Dropping the rake next to the ball is silly, but not against any rule that I could find.
    Situation three: you can add clubs to your bag at any time during the round, provided you don't exceed the total of 14 clubs. Rule 4-4a
    U. S. Air Force, Retired

    Comment


    • #3
      Re: Rule Scenario

      Originally posted by ScottyMacKay
      Ok my name is Scott Mackay I play golf almost every day, and I have some questions about rules:

      Ok so let’s say I hit my ball up onto the green and one of my playing partners marks my ball. Does he have to replace it? And if he does have to replace it and he doesn’t do I get a two stroke penalty..

      A ball may be lifted by you, your partner, or another person you have authorized, but not by a referee. You remain responsible for any rule violation during tis process. If a ball is to be replaced, you, your partner, or the person who lifted or moved the ball must return it to it's previous location. If replacing is not done correctly it is a two stroke penality and you are repsonsible to count it. If you correct the problem before playing the ball no penalty.

      Let’s say I am in a bunker and I take the rake into the bunker with me and drop it right beside my ball, is this a two stroke penalty? I am pretty sure it is my my golf coach says different.

      As long as you don't use it as an align aid you are okay. Mark one up for the coach.

      One more and I am done, So if I forgot my putter at home and was playing a round and I putted on the front nine with my driver, then at the turn my mother comes and gives me my putter. Would this be altering your equipment during a round?

      You're limtied to 14 clubs for a stipulated round. If you start with less you may add clubs during the round as long as you don't exceed 14. When adding clubs you must not delay play excessively.

      I was in a tournament today and all of these things happened to someone in my four-sum, I know most of the rules about golf, but not these ones. Help anyone
      See inserted answers.
      Mule
      In The Ogio
      Driver - Titleist TS4 w/Diamana
      Fairway Wood - KZG CH-II 3 wood w/Accra HF
      Hybrids - Nakashima NX 3 and 4 w/Accra HF
      Irons - Wilson FG Tour V2 w/KBS Tours
      Wedges - Wilson FG Tours w/TT DG SPinners
      Putter - Scotty Cameron Red X​
      MEMBER OF THE 2008, 2010, 2011, 2014, 2016, 2018 RYDER CUP CHAMPS!

      Comment


      • #4
        Re: Rule Scenario

        Originally posted by goshawk
        In situation one, it is necessary for your partner to replace the ball. Once it's marked and lifted, only the person lifting it can replace it. Rule 20.3a
        This is an incorrect reading of Rule 20-3a. The Rule authorizes the player, his partner or the person who lifted or moved it to replace it. It does not specify that only the person lifting it can replace it.

        Originally posted by ScottyMacKay
        Ok so let’s say I hit my ball up onto the green and one of my playing partners marks my ball.
        What do you mean by "playing partner"? Was this a four-ball tournament?


        The reason I ask is that the word "partner" has a specific meaning in the Rules of Golf, i.e., as someone playing on the same side as you. In stroke play, someone who is playing in your foursome but not on your side is called a "fellow-competitor" - and under Rule 20-1 such a person is not permitted to lift and mark your ball without your authorization.

        There is no penalty for breach of this Rule in stroke play, so it is largely ignored in casual rounds. However, in a tournament players should lift and mark their own balls only, and you would be well advised to tell your fellow-competitors to replace your ball if they lift it, so that you can lift it and mark it yourself. Otherwise it will be deemed that you authorized their action, and you will then be held responsible if it was not done properly.
        Golf is a game invented by the same people who think music comes out of bagpipes.

        Comment


        • #5
          Re: Rule Scenario

          13-4/20 Umbrella or Rake Placed in Hazard Before Stroke


          Q. May a player place an umbrella or a rake in a bunker before playing a stroke from the bunker?

          A. Placing an umbrella or rake in a hazard is equivalent to placing clubs in the hazard — see Exception 1 to Rule 13-4. There is no penalty, providing nothing is done which may constitute testing the soil or improving the lie of the ball. But see Decision 13-4/22.

          13-4/21 Rake Thrown into Bunker Before Stroke


          Q. A player’s ball lies in a bunker. He casually throws a rake into the bunker for use after his stroke. The rake does not move his ball or improve the lie of the ball. Does the player incur a penalty?

          A. No. Placing a rake in a bunker is permissible. In this case, throwing the rake into the bunker was the equivalent of placing it.
          If the rake had moved the ball, the player would incur a penalty of one stroke for causing his ball to move; and the ball would have to be replaced — Rule 18-2a.

          13-4/22 Rake Handle Stuck in Bunker Before Stroke


          Q. A takes a rake into a bunker so that he can smooth his footprints after playing from the bunker. He sticks the handle of the rake into the sand prior to playing his stroke. Is this permissible?

          A. No. A was in breach of Rule 13-4 which prohibits testing the condition of a hazard when the ball lies in the hazard.

          Comment


          • #6
            Re: Rule Scenario

            wow thxs everybody for their advice and input, i was unclear about these rules and now i know, and will use them in the up and coming tournments

            Comment


            • #7
              Re: Rule Scenario

              Originally posted by el tigre
              This is an incorrect reading of Rule 20-3a. The Rule authorizes the player, his partner or the person who lifted or moved it to replace it. It does not specify that only the person lifting it can replace it.
              Copied from the RCGA website:

              20-3. Placing and Replacing
              a. By Whom and Where
              A ball to be placed under the Rules must be placed by the player or his partner. If a ball is to be replaced, the player, his partner or the person who lifted or moved it must place it on the spot from which it was lifted or moved. In any such case, the player is responsible for any breach of the Rules.
              U. S. Air Force, Retired

              Comment


              • #8
                Re: Rule Scenario

                Did you also know that you can take your whole bag into the bunker as well if you wish to. You can also take the bag into a hazard as well. As long as you do not ground your club in the hazard or the bunker everything is cool.

                Jeff
                WITB:

                Stage 2 Tour / Accra CB 55 M4
                Stage 2 Tour 16.5 / Accra Tour Z LS 65 M4
                Adams A12 Tour 3,4 / Accra Dymatch RT S3 M4
                Miura 501 CB / Accra Hybrex M4
                Titleist TVD Wedgeworks
                Scotty Cameron Tour Rat
                Scotty Cameron Knuckelhead
                Ball: Lethal

                Comment


                • #9
                  Re: Rule Scenario

                  Originally posted by swaaain
                  Did you also know that you can take your whole bag into the bunker as well if you wish to. You can also take the bag into a hazard as well. As long as you do not ground your club in the hazard or the bunker everything is cool.

                  Jeff
                  Thanks Jeff. I had seen someone do that once and wondered about it. But he did follow the rule about not grounding his club so I just figured it wasn't against the rules. However, I did play with a guy once who pushed his beer down in the bunker and one of the other guys in the 4some told him that was a penalty. He argued, but eventually realized why it was a penalty (pushing it into the sand was considered testing the surface). If he had just placed it there, no problem.
                  U. S. Air Force, Retired

                  Comment


                  • #10
                    Re: Rule Scenario

                    Also note that you can actually take a stance in the bunker and make a practice swing or go through the motions WITHOUT a club, step out of the bunker, grab your club and reassume your stance provided you did NOT make a practice swing with a club. If you did take a club with you into the bunker, took a stance and made a practice swing with a club in hand, you are not allowed to step out of the bunker, change clubs and reassume your stance without violation of the rules.

                    Comment


                    • #11
                      Re: Rule Scenario

                      Originally posted by goshawk
                      Copied from the RCGA website:

                      20-3. Placing and Replacing
                      a. By Whom and Where
                      A ball to be placed under the Rules must be placed by the player or his partner. If a ball is to be replaced, the player, his partner or the person who lifted or moved it must place it on the spot from which it was lifted or moved. In any such case, the player is responsible for any breach of the Rules.
                      Bill, I'm not trying to pick on you, but I do want to make sure that the Rule is understood correctly.

                      You have quoted the correct Rule, but your interpretation is incorrect. As you can see, it does not indicate that ONLY the person who lifted it must replace it. It authorizes the player, his partner OR the person who lifted or moved it to replace it.

                      In the Rules of Golf every word is important, and it is very easy to read more into them than they contain. Since nowhere in this Rule does it specify that the person replacing the ball must be the same person who lifted it, then having one "authorized" person lift and a different "authorized" person replace is permitted.
                      Golf is a game invented by the same people who think music comes out of bagpipes.

                      Comment


                      • #12
                        Re: Rule Scenario

                        Tigre, you're absolutely correct. My error. It must have been a brain fart.I hope I didn't confuse anyone.
                        U. S. Air Force, Retired

                        Comment


                        • #13
                          Re: Rule Scenario

                          Originally posted by goshawk
                          Tigre, you're absolutely correct. My error. It must have been a brain fart.I hope I didn't confuse anyone.
                          No problem. My brain farts a lot!
                          Golf is a game invented by the same people who think music comes out of bagpipes.

                          Comment


                          • #14
                            Re: Rule Scenario

                            Originally posted by el tigre
                            No problem. My brain farts a lot!
                            You know, this getting old stuff is for the birds!!!!
                            U. S. Air Force, Retired

                            Comment


                            • #15
                              Re: Rule Scenario

                              Originally posted by Carlton
                              If you did take a club with you into the bunker, took a stance and made a practice swing with a club in hand, you are not allowed to step out of the bunker, change clubs and reassume your stance without violation of the rules.
                              Are you sure?
                              Dec 13-4/26
                              Putting isn't golf, greens should be treated almost the same as water hazards: you land on them, then add two strokes to your score.
                              - Chi Chi Rodriguez

                              Comment

                              Collapse

                              Subscribe to Our Newsletter


                              Collapse

                              Latest TGN Reviews


                              Collapse

                              Today's Birthdays


                              Working...
                              X